Ten Things My Cat Hates About You by Lottie Lucas

Ten Things My Cat Hates About You

Published: November 15th 2019

Publisher: One More Chapter

Length:

My Rating: 2.5 stars

Blurb:

This funny, warm-hearted rom-com is perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella, Lindsey Kelk and Mhairi McFarlane!

Not everyone gets nine lives…
So he better be the love of a lifetime!

When Clara’s ginger cat Casper chases yet another romantic prospect out the door she’s ready to give up on love altogether. But then the fussy feline causes two meet cutes in the space of a day and suddenly Clara has two gorgeous men driving her to distraction.

But who is in control of happy ever after? Clara, fate…or the cat who started it all?

My Review:

I loved the title and the premise of this story and was excited to read it, but I was disappointed in the execution.  I liked the interaction between Clara and Adam, and of course, Casper’s reactions to Adam but half of the book is devoted to Clara and her relationship with Josh. The interactions between Clara and Adam are just thrown in every so often, which disrupts the flow of the story.

I also couldn’t like Clara; she comes across as immature and whiny. Two characteristics you don’t want in your heroine. This is the first book by the author, and she does have talent, some moments were pretty hilarious. I expect as her writing develops her stories will be useful, but this book is a definite miss, lots of potential but poorly executed.

I received an arc of this book via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts and opinions are my own. 

*Blurb and cover image via Goodreads. 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s