Her deceptive Duke by Scarlett Scott

Her Deceptive Duke is the fourth instalment in Scarlett Scott’s Wicked Husbands series. I have read one other book in this series but each book can be read as a standalone.

Georgina is an American Heiress, thanks to a large inheritance from her late uncle’s fortune. Raised on a farm by a cold-hearted father, Georgina is not a typical society miss.

Kit, Duke of Leeds, ne’er expected to inherit the debt ridden Dukedom from his brother. His life has revolved around his efforts as a spy for the Home Office. He quickly marries Georgina for her money and abandons her on their wedding day.

Kit returns six months later, wounded during an undercover operation that leaves him branded a traitor. He is disconcerted to find his home overrun with animals and a butler who is more than he seems. With danger lurking Kit discovers he risks more than his life, he also risks his heart.

I found it difficult to read this book, it is historically inaccurate and the characters were not as engaging as I liked. It felt over long and while certain elements were entertaining overall the story fell flat.

I received an arc of this book in exchange for my honest opinion.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s