More or Less a Countess (The Somerset Sisters #2) by Anna Bradley

More or Less a Countess is the second instalment in Anna Bradley’s Somerset Sisters series. While part of a series this book can be read as a standalone.

In this instalment we meet Violet, the middle Somerset sister. She feels more comfortable curled up in a library than standing in a ballroom. After promising her grandmother to a season.

Nicholas Balfour, the Earl of Dare, enjoys the life of a bachelor. He is seeking a meek wife content to live in the country while he continues his lifestyle. He settles on Ms Hyacinth Somerset as a wife.

Violet, looking to protect her sister, does not disabuse Nicholas when he mistakes her for Hyacinth. It also helps that Nicholas agrees to take her to areas of interest not typically places of courtship. Violet’s dream is to publish her manuscript and only needs to visit a few more areas such as a graveyard to finish it.

I love an atypical heroine and Violet is definitely different, not many are interested in the macabre especially women. Nicholas is also a breath of fresh air. While he is a rake, he suffers poor self esteem because of his father. I have read several books by Ms Bradley and I recommend her to anyone who enjoys steam, intriguing plot and compelling characters not usually found in historical romance.

I voluntarily read and reviewed an advance copy of this book. All thoughts and opinions are my own.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s