The Duke Who Lied (The 1797 Club Book 8) by Jess Michaels


This is the eighth instalment in the steamy 1797 club series by Jess Michaels. I would recommend this book to any lover of Regency romance. While part of a series, the author has crafted a story that stands perfectly well on its own.

Hugh Margolis, Duke of Brighthollow, has been guilt-ridden ever since his young sister was seduced by a scandalous rogue and left broken-hearted. When he learns the rogue has set his sights on another heiress, he intervenes at significant cost to himself.

Miss Amelia Quinton is newly engaged after a whirlwind romance with a man who is sweet and caring. When her father announces she is to be married to the Duke of Brighthollow instead she is horrified.

Married quickly, their passion is intense but the two struggle to communicate. Hugh is reluctant to reveal his sister’s secret and Amelia is angry at the situation she has found herself in. They are both battling their growing feelings for each other while hesitant to trust each other.

Jess Michaels is back on top form with this instalment. Both characters are interesting and endearing. While I felt Hugh should have been honest sooner and the plot sagged in the middle I did enjoy this book.

I voluntarily read and reviewed an advance copy of this book. All thoughts and opinions are my own. 



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s